What I’m Reading This Week

A blog that I read (Molecular Ecologist) has a Friday post almost every week about what they’re reading. I enjoy hearing about what other people are reading. It gives me ideas. These are some of the things I’ve been reading this week:

Comparing software packages for accuracy and efficiency

Fusion primer method

NGS Target Enrichment methods

Sequence Identification Tags

Present for husband (who reads this blog?)

My town held local elections. The woman whose sign has been on my lawn for the past month (Margot Dorfman) won! Jim Simmons seems like he will be a good mayor. In talking with him about housing developments and septic tank issues on our barrier island, he seemed to be knowledgeable and very aware of the logistics and the situation we’re in. I have an optimistic outlook for this new Commission and Mayoral administration.

There is a glum atmosphere at work as an unpopular interim Executive Director was named from the existing faculty ranks.

Exploring analyses and different normalization methods of microarray intensities for a potentially sketchy set of data.

Starting an 8-week, “Bioinformatics Algorithms: Part 1” course.  I think Dr. Pavel Pevzner (one of the instructors/creators of the course) is cool and has some good ideas for teaching bioinformatics. Biology Education needs re-examining.

Plus, he’s funny and very charming:

R learning:

For my students (Week 5, Atmospheric Issues):

month-profile-graph.php

I was accepted to the 2014 Workshop on Genomics in Český Krumlov, Czech Republic! Now I have to find funding. Commence proposal writing. Some references I used:

Mountains of graduate school program websites. Taking my time and carefully considering . I am positive and convinced this is something I want to do.

GRE math:

Some other interesting links:

Listening to:

About Lisa Johnson

PhD candidate at UC Davis.
This entry was posted in Articles, Links. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

